Sep 17, 2014

Calls for Fed DoJ Intervention in Wisconsin as an Election Is Rigged in Plain Sight

Black, brown, yellow and young need not vote here, says Republican Party, backed by Frank Easterbrook and the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

The message could not be clearer as each new Republican Party election law this spring was pushed through with minimal public input, with a GOP machine demonization project of the League of Women Voters of Wisconsin, referring to the League as "Vultures."

Republican candidates refuse to participate in debates sponsored by the League for opposing a package of GOP bills designed to obstruct voters likely to vote non-Republican.

Now, the GOP is attempting to steal the election in plain sight, and disenfranchise 10,000s in a best-case scenario.

We need the Civil Rights Division of the Department of Justice to intervene.

On Election Day from GOP-aligned "observers" newly empowered with the power to harass to a ridiculous order from three Republican judges changing the rules for voter ID on the eve of the election, federal help is needed.

It used to be considered in bad form to identify the party of the president who appointed a federal judge when discussing cases judges deliberate, but the federal judiciary has too often gone along with the Republican, quasi-fascist project that degrades the formal structures and foundations of our democracy.

Members of the federal judiciary ought to have no more credibility with the American public than any other politician.

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit judges are:

Wood - Clinton
Bauer - Ford (Senior status)
Cudahy - Carter (Senior status)
Posner - Reagan
Flaum - Reagan
Easterbrook - Nixon (learned a few tricks from the disgraced president about fixing elections and dirty tricks)
Ripple - Reagan (Senior status)
Manion - Reagan (Senior status)
Kanne - Reagan
Rovner - H.W. Bush
Williams - Clinton
Sykes - W. Bush
Tinder - W. Bush
Hamilton - Obama

Q: What is a senior judge?
The "Rule of 80" is the commonly used shorthand for the age and service requirement for a judge to assume senior status, as set forth in Title 28 of the US. Code, Section 371(c). Beginning at age 65, a judge may retire at his or her current salary or take senior status after performing 15 years of active service as an Article III judge (65+15 = 80). A sliding scale of increasing age and decreasing service results in eligibility for retirement compensation at age 70 with a minimum of 10 years of service (70+10=80). Senior judges, who essentially provide volunteer service to the courts, typically handle about 15 percent of the federal courts' workload annually. (United States Courts)

No comments:

Post a Comment